A Movie Review – Che: Part one


So firstly I’d like to apologize for my lack of posting in the last two days, my computer has beef. But we resolved it with the help of Louis Farrakhan and now on to more important stuff.

I love this time of year because all the blockbusters you watch just for pure entertainment come out in the summer but by this time of year you only have the seriously good movies left. There’s alot so watch this space and this is definitely one of them.

Che:Part One is a two part film (doesn’t take a genius to figure out it may have been part of a series) focusing on the life of one of histories most influential figures Ernesto “Che” Guevara. It’s set in the beginning of the Cuban revolution and the efforts of Castro and Che in defeating General Batista. I was really hyped for this film because even though Che Guevara is a household name and everyone has a Che t-shirt, not many of us know the man, what he stood for, his ideologies, his struggle. This film does all of that and gives you and a honest portrayal of historical events.

Benico Del Toro is kind of amazing in this role. What can I say, you just believe that he is Che. Even when there isn’t much going on or their isn’t any dialogue his mannerisms keep you entertained. There’s not really a boring moment in the film due to him. However isn’t all ways action packed either, the thing I found most intriguing was you constantly find humor in this film, in the most unlikely of places.

It’s also visually stunning. The backdrop of Cuba is mind blowing and the camera angles have been carefully selected so that you can see the war which these men are apart of but the beauty that they’re fighting for is still visible. No need to say I really enjoyed this film. I went in knowing about Che Guevara and I felt that when I walked out I knew Che Guevara. Definitely worth the watch.

Leave a Reply

